For the second year in a row, the annual Winter/Spring Committee Meetings of the ASME Design Division were held at ERF facilities (ERF 1043, 1047, 3041). The meetings held were those of the Executive Committee, General Committee, International Activity Committee, Vibration and Sound Committee and Design Education Committee. Almost 30 participants from academia and industry from across the country participated in these committee meetings. These committee meetings are always held in March in Chicago in conjunction with the National Manufacturing Week show and conferences, and ASME Design Division plays a major role in the conference portion of NMW activities. Before UIC was tapped for these meetings last year, these meetings were held in McCormick Place for decades. However, the participants have liked easy access to ERF and its facilities that some participants termed as an excellent conference center.

A bit a Design Division history was also made. The Division has ten technical committees. The formation of a new Technical Committee, the Multibody System Dynamics (MSD) Committee, was approved and Prof. Ahmed Shabana was appointed as the Founding Chair of MSD. No one can recall easily when the last technical committee was added, and the fact that the new committee was formed after several years of hard work by Prof. Shabana and approved when the Division Executive Committee met in ERF is an amazing coincidence.

The Division, through the Executive Committee member Gupta, communicated a great appreciation for the generosity of the MIE Department in making its (and with arrangement with CME, their) ERF conference facilities.

Professors Gupta, Shabana and Royston acted as the local host for the meeting. Three of our graduate students, Koray Kusculuoglu, Hiro Sugiyama and Khaled Zaazaa formed the hospitality team to welcome and help the guests and to keep the conference rooms amply supplied with coffee and soft drinks.

ASME Design Division also sponsors IDETC Conferences in Fall and the information about IDETC03 (Chicago) is contained in the last link below. Prof. Shabana is the Conference Chair and Prof. Royston is the Program Chair. 
National Manufacturing Week Link:


You may also like

UIC Chapter of ASME at 2019 E-FEST
ASME members pick up life lessons at E-FEST Competition
AV Class at UIC College of Engineering
Engineering students take on autonomous vehicles in new multidisciplinary course
UIC Alumni Annie McDonnell NASA JPL
MIE alumna working on Europa Clipper program at NASA Jet Propulsion Lab

Raymond Matthes

Leave a Reply